Meeting A Creative Casanova

Being someone who grew up constantly exploring the strange medical realm (basically being sick at least sixty percent of my life if not more) I have a brilliant understanding of hospital etiquette and I am well aware of the strange occurrences that can occur when the long waiting periods eventually becomes too much for some patients. But never in my twenty years of life has anything prepared me for the events that unfolded yesterday.

The day started in the usual blurry eyed manner and I dragged myself to a hot shower before dressing like an Eskimo because it is freezing here. I eventually made my way out the door and to the hospital. And as expected, even though I was running late, by the time I arrived at the doctors rooms I was still early and there was not a single doctor to be seen.

So, as required by the unspoken hospital waiting area code of conduct, I picked a seat next to a friendly looking woman and curled up in it before proceeding to pull my phone out and mind my own business. Which basically means I pretended to be  replying to messages but was actually just spending mind numbing minutes staring aimlessly at Facebook posts wishing the time to pass.

About five minutes later in the corner of my eye, I caught movement and noticed a boy  one seat away whispering to the woman next to me. IMG_20160127_062955_wmMy attention was drawn away from my phone and my eyes lifted to collide with his when he unexpectedly switched seats with the lady next to me. Now I was sitting next to a guy with eyes that made you think of sea foam and a soft breeze against your face. Not exactly what I had in mind when I picked this seat but okay then.

My first mistake was probably making eye contact because in 0.25 seconds this boy launched into his game plan. He started a conversation while holding my gaze captive. He ensured that there was no doubt that I was the only person in the room who caught his attention. Everything from the  way he tilted of his head towards me and the way he angled his body to face me to the way he used his expressive eyes  to draw me in screamed well honed skills and practiced flirtation.

Somehow, from a quiet, relatively mundane and typical introductory conversation, this skillful young man found a way to wrap his arms around me and hug me tightly in the middle of a rather busy waiting area. I could feel a couple of eyes on us and in my peripheral vision I saw a few people whispering about us but as I my eyes collided with his again I forgot all about the people around us. I watched as he whispered something too soft for me to catch and I could not stop the instinctive leaning of my head towards his to try and catch his words.

This smart boy played the game too well and I, illiterate in the well honed skills of a flirt, fell for his ploy. The second I leaned forward to hear him, he struck and planted a smacking kiss onto my smooth cheek. In shock, my eyes widened and I heard the woman next to him gasp softly in shock (clearly she had been watching the entire moment unfold). Every eye in the room was now on us and I recoiled into my chair completely speechless.

I was saved from complete mortification by a doctor coming out and calling his name. But while I thought that was where it ended this smart boy with his slick ways had a different idea. He calmly rose and walking backwards blows me a kiss before leaving the room. Needless to say for a few seconds the entire room sat in complete silent shock before I dropped my head and sent my mum a summary of  the entire string of events.

Just before she completely freaks out (as I expect most of you are too) I quickly add the part  where he lied about his age and his mum had laughed quietly and corrected,

“You’re only  five, honey”.

Still In Awe of The Five Year Old Casanova,

Brokebella.

Signature (6)

2 thoughts on “Meeting A Creative Casanova

  1. Still he did make you feel kind of good though, didn’t he. Sometimes kids do things like that because they feel you needed it. Although I am sure it was rather awkward. What an interesting situation!

    Liked by 1 person

Comment