Confession of a Mascaraholic

Mascaraholic

Considering the fact that I actually get a monthly allowance, don’t pay for water, electricity or accommodation and get three free meals a day you would expect me to have enough cash to go out once in while or treat myself to a spa day. And if I’m having a really good month I might be able to actually do all of those things. Unfortunately, those months are few and far between. In fact they’re so rare I sometimes feel like I’d have a better chance finding a rainbow unicorn.

Now you’re probably wondering what the heck do I spend my money on….

Here’s the thing, ninety percent of the time I have no idea what I do with the money. At least that’s what I keep telling myself. The pile of receipts in my wallet tell a different story. Not to mention the overflowing makeup box that sits on my dresser. Basically if I’m not buying junk food, that I actually don’t need to eat because I’m not hungry I’m just bored, I’m buying Make-up. I don’t need it nor do I use them regularly enough to warrant a monthly splurge. Unfortunately, I live by one rule and one rule only:  A girl can never have too many shoes and bottles of mascara.

I learnt at a young age that my light eyes were different to everyone else’s and that many people found them weirdly attractive. So when I discovered the wonders of mascara it was inevitable that I would become addicted. I have fairly long eyelashes but you will not believe how transforming a swipe of mascara can be.

IMG_20141004_171840

A little bit of really good mascara can take you from sleepy, puffy eyes to popping Zooey Deschanel wide awake. And while many people are addicted to a single type of mascara I’m not picky. Some say it’s the brush that makes the difference and others say it’s the formula. I say as long as it’s not dry or flaky I’ll use it. Yes, some work better than others but in the end I’m an addict and a hit is a hit right?

Think of it this way, a cocaine addict knows that a certain dealer may have better quality coke but when they need a hit they will buy whatever they can get their hands on right? Similarly,  when I need my hit I don’t care about the formula or the brush. I buy it, try it and then if I hate it, it sits in my makeup bag for the rest of its life. So before I spend every cent I earn this holiday I decided to get some help. In order to do that I have to make a confession:

I am Broke Bella and I’m a Mascaraholic.

Comment